top of page

You Should Be Writing

So, you're scrolling through the inter webs and doing everything else in the world besides writing, right? Right. You should be writing.

I should be, too! I do have a plethora of excuses lined up and ready to take on the firing squad for me. We've had everything from surgery to death in the family lately. Between that and teaching, I haven't written this summer. But, summer is gone, and I'm planning to get back to my poor, neglected stories this fall.

I've got a new tool to help with that, too. If you've dropped by, and you're also a writer, do you know about 4theWords? (Don't worry, I'm not sponsored by them or anything like that.) 4theWords is a website that turns your writing into a game. The more you write, the more rewards you get to complete quests. I know a lot of writers actually enjoy games, too. This has been a wonderful way to help me stay accountable with writing. I also think it would be a cool way to start writing for those who have been on the fence about whether or not they want to write.

While I adore Scrivener, I've actually written the entirety of my latest story on 4theWords. It feels a little clunky sometimes, because I'm used to being able to drag and drop story sections. However, I think the sprint feature it has is well worth the lacking it has in utility. 4theWords has "boss monsters" that require you to write a certain number of words in a set amount of time to defeat it. This is great for getting the words on the page (or screen)! Anyway, while you're here not writing, I thought you might could use the tip! Now, go write.



I've made some adjustments to my "Coming Soon" list that you can check out later. I also took my WIP books off of my "Books" list on my website. I'll only be adding books that are finished so that it doesn't get confusing. I do hop between projects a lot!

Lucky and the Killer is a huge book, and it's taking more time to edit than I thought! So look for that to come out in paperback later instead. (Give me a break, guys. It's 600 pages! Dang, that epic fantasy.)

So, if you're still here reading, you should be writing right now. Not an author? Don't care. Go write. Start now. Become one. I know a lot of people who dream of writing all of these really cool story ideas but never write them. I know it's hard. I know how life can take over, but try. The world will never see your story if you don't write it. The world needs your story. You should be writing.

Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page